Some gave me a hard time for not including more facts in my previous story that speculated on how the SnapNames scam was uncovered. I admit that my previous article was vague where clear facts would have sufficed. So let me set the record straight and dive into the minutia of whois histories that drove my initial conclusions.
After searching Google, I found the following domains that were identified as won by halvarez (Nelson Brady, ex-VP of Engineering at SnapNames) on a number of websites and forums including dnforum.com and domain.cn. I focused on domains that were said to have been won (instead of lost) by halvarez because they would have a whois history on DomainTools of the winner. Looking at the whois history would prove or disprove the sometimes outlandish claims made in the forums. Here are theĀ 21 domains that were said to be won by halvarez:
hamvuiclub.com
cinemagazine.com
lifeclips.com
searchescorts.com
tvizle.com
googletrends.com
extrawallpapers.com
fashionindia.net
jeniferlopez.com
tinhlathe.com
only-maps.com
hannahmontanna.com
nanotorrent.com
mature-club.com
curlyhair.net
simsextremos.com
moslemlink.com
90523.com
itttech.com
alphadating.com
xxbox.com
All of them except for two had an important commonality: being registered at one point in time by DomainQueue of Tacoma, WA. It was this pattern that proved the Tacoma address was the primary address of halvarez. Of the two domains that I could not link definitively, one I suspect was registered by DomainQueue/halvarez (alphadating.com) because it was eventually registered to iREIT but lacks whois history for all of 2006 and 2007. The other appears to have no link whatsoever (xxbox.com).
Now that we have a list of 19 domains that were won by halvarez, we can look at the acquisition date (when he won the auction at SnapNames), if any were transferred to iREIT, and where they are today. This is the data I used to generate the graphic at the top of this article.
I believe that due diligence for iREIT acquisition of the DomainQueue portfolio began around September 20th, 2006. This is the first date that DomainQueue domains (tvizle.com) began to point their DNS to iREIT DNS servers. This is a common practice for domain owners looking to prove that their domains have traffic to a potential buyer.
Nine days later on September 29th 2006, iREIT issued a press release announcing that Craig Snyder had joined iREIT.
On November 30, 2006 the DomainQueue domains (cinemagazine.com) began changing whois ownership to iREIT.
Looking at all domains acquired by DomainQueue before November 30, 2006, it appears that iREIT bought almost the entire portfolio. Credit should be given to them for avoiding the more controversial adult domains and “celebrity typo name” domains and focusing on the traffic portion of the portfolio.
The reason I am pointing out all of these patterns is to show why I speculated that Craig Snyder was the person who discovered the scam after joining SnapNames. I am not accusing iREIT of any wrongdoing. In fact, they are one of the most risk-averse companies operating in the domain aftermarket and they would not have touched the DomainQueue deal with a 10 foot pole had they been aware of the troubled source of the domains.
| itttech.com |


